ECO Council

The European Communications Office (ECO) is the permanent Secretariat of the European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT), an organisation where policy makers and regulators from 48 countries across Europe collaborate to harmonise telecommunication, radio spectrum and postal regulations.

The ECO is governed by a Council, consisting of representatives of the 35 countries contributing to the financing of the ECO. The countries are listed below and shown on the map.

13th ECO Council meeting (ECO, Copenhagen, 16-17 December 2015)
The ECO is delighted to announce that its governing Council has appointed Dr. Samuel Ritchie of Ireland as its new Vice-Chair, at its most recent meeting. He takes the position with immediate effect.

Marta Leandro, Council Chair and Samuel Ritchie, Council Vice-Chair

12th ECO Council meeting (Biel, Switzerland on 5-7 May 2015):
The ECO is delighted to announce that its governing Council has appointed Ms. Marta Leandro of Portugal as Council Chair, at its most recent meeting.  She takes the position with immediate effect.
The ECO would also like to express its sincere appreciation to the outgoing Chairman, Mr. Geir Sundal of Norway, who has decided to retire from the Norwegian Administration. We wish him all the best and a happy retirement.

11th ECO Council meeting:
At the 11th meeting of the ECO Council in Copenhagen on 3-4 December 2014, Czech Republic became a member of ECO Council.
Lithuania became the 35th member on the 1st  of February 2015.

ECO Mission statement

ECO Annual Report 2015

ECO Convention:   English    French    German

The following countries participate in the ECO Council:  Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and Vatican City.


Updated: 24 January 2017, 16:13