Com-ITU (CEPT Committee for ITU Policy) appoints Manuel da Costa Cabral as its new Chairman

26 Sep 2015, 00:23

The Committee for ITU Policy (Com-ITU) of the European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT), responsible for co-ordinating CEPT's engagement with the International Telecommunications Union (ITU), has announced on 23 September 2015 the appointment of Mr Manuel da Costa Cabral as the new Chairman of Com-ITU, a position which also includes the role of one of the three co-Presidents of CEPT.

Manuel da Costa Cabral has been working as External Affairs Expert at the Portuguese National Authority for Communications (ANACOM) since 2010. He has also gained some further regulatory experience while working as a Policy Officer for the European Commission in Brussels from 2008 to 2010. During his career, Mr da Costa Cabral has been involved in close cooperation with various international fora dedicated to telecommunications; in particular, he led the CEPT preparation and coordination for ITU World Conference on International Telecommunications (WCIT-12).

Mr da Costa Cabral was elected during the Com-ITU meeting held in Lisbon (23-25 September 2015). Thirty-one CEPT countries did participate in the election process to designate the successor of Mr Marcin Krasuski who has decided to step down at the end of his first three-year term as Chairman of Com-ITU.

Mr da Costa Cabral expressed his honour for being elected for COM-ITU’s top job: “I can only feel honoured for being appointed to this position. Since I am following COM-ITU, I have dealt with two Chairman: Mr Anders Jönsson and Mr Marcin Krasuski. Both left a remarkable mark in the European Contribution to ITU. It will be a challenge to succeed them, but with the active support of colleagues, I am sure we will achieve our goals.”

The outgoing Chairman, Mr. Marcin Krasuski, acknowledged the expertise and experience of Mr. da Costa Cabral and his valuable contribution to the work of Com-ITU to date. “I am confident that with such leadership the strong European voice will be heard at the global arena and I wish Mr da Costa Cabral every success in the new role as the next Com-ITU Chair.”

At its next meeting in January 2016, Com-ITU will appoint its Vice-Chairmen since the current Vice-Chairmen, Mr. Frédéric Riehl of Switzerland and Dr. Ahmet Erdinç Çavuşoğlu of Turkey, will have completed their first three-year term.



1.                          The Committee for ITU Policy (Com-ITU) of the European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT) is responsible organising CEPT’s engagement with the ITU across many activities. In particular, the committee co-ordinates its members’ positions for the ITU's Plenipotentiary Conferences, World Telecommunication Development Conferences, World Telecommunication Standardisation Assemblies, and various other meetings.  However, CEPT positions for World Radiocommunication Conferences are co-ordinated by CEPT's Electronic Communications Committee (ECC).

2.                          CEPT is an organisation where policy makers and regulators from 48 countries across Europe collaborate to harmonise telecommunication, radio spectrum, and postal regulations to improve efficiency and co-ordination for the benefit of European society.

3.                          ITU (International Telecommunication Union) is the United Nations specialised agency for telecommunication.  Read more at www.itu.int.

4.                          Com-ITU is supported by CEPT's Secretariat office, the European Communications Office (ECO), which is based in Copenhagen, Denmark.


/files/1048/Edition 0 of the RoP Com-ITU-July 2009.pdf