Who we are

Working together for a stronger more dynamic market in the field of electronic communications.

The Electronic Communications Committee (ECC) is one of three business committees of the European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT), an organisation where expert policy makers and regulators from 48 countries across the whole of Europe collaborate to create a stronger and more dynamic market in the electronic communications and postal sectors.

The ECC was established in September 2001 as a result of the merger between ECTRA (responsible for general telecommunications matters) and ERC (responsible for radiocommunications matters).

The ECC has extensive expertise in the field of electronic communications. It brings together representatives from CEPT member countries (the Administrations) which provides us with a wealth of experience and technical expertise. Our work is carried out mainly by a set of specialist Working Groups and Project Teams supported by the CEPT’s central office, the European Communications Office (ECO).

Counsellors from the European Commission and the European Free Trade Association Secretariat participate in the activities of the ECC and its Working Groups.
Representatives of relevant intergovernmental organisations as well as other organisations or administrations concerned with European electronic communications may be invited by the Chairmen of the ECC or its Working Groups to participate as observers in meetings, on an ad hoc basis.
Individual members of the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) may also participate in our work.

Updated: 23 October 2017, 13:44